2/16/2023: Virtual Talks with Video Activists: “TV LAB”

Preview screening/discussion of “Nam June Paik and TV LAB: License to Create” with filmmaker Howard Weinberg

NJP-TVLab-Logo-cropped

Thursday, February 16th
1PM PT / 3PM CT / 4PM ET
Free, 60-minute virtual screening and discussion
Featuring filmmaker Howard Weinberg, moderated by Carol Brandenburg
registration link coming soon!

Before YouTube, before Reality Television,” before the Internet, artists and filmmakers pushed the boundaries of television at the TV LAB — an experimental division of Channel 13/WNET public television from 1972-1984. Supported initially by the Rockefeller Foundation and the New York State Council on the Arts at the urging of Nam June Paik, who wanted a place for artists to create new imagery on television.

GlobalGroove5_o
Psychadelic Charlotte Moorman with outline of face superimposed.

“Television can be better than television is.” This feature-length documentary shows how the TV LAB at Thirteen/WNET, New York (1972-84) changed the way we see television and the world.

Producer-Director Howard Weinberg is an award-winning documentary filmmaker and television journalist. Weinberg’s work with major figures in American journalism has earned him Emmy, Peabody, duPont and Polk awards. He was Founding Producer of The MacNeil/Lehrer Report, Executive Producer of The Dick Cavett Show, Creator and Producer of Assignment America with Studs Terkel,Senior Producer of Inside Story with Hodding Carter, Executive Producer of Listening to America with Bill Moyers (a 27-part election-year series), and Producer for CBS News Sunday Morning with Charles Kuralt and later with Charles Osgood and Sixty Minutes with Harry Reasoner.

 

0 Comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment

 
 




 
Copyright © 2022 Media Burn Archive.
Media Burn Archive | 935 W Chestnut St Suite 405 Chicago IL 60642
(312) 964-5020 | info@mediaburn.org