8/26/21: The Portable Revolution: The 1970s Guerrilla Television Movement

90-minute screening/discussion of works from the 1970s media movement called Guerrilla Television.

A full replay of the August 26th event.

Thursday, August 26th
12:00p PT / 2:00p CT / 3:00p ET
Free, 90-minute screening and discussion
Full replay available now!

WendyAppelRitaOgden-1
Portable video pioneers Wendy Appel and Rita Ogden on location ca. 1972.

During the 1970s, a little-known media revolution was taking place around the United States. It was called “Guerrilla Television,” and its practitioners–artists, community organizers, and filmmakers–utilized low-cost, portable 1⁄2” video technology to experiment with new forms of art and documentary. Creators from all walks of life, including Black and Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC), women, rural communities, working people, and youth, were empowered to tell their own stories through media. This work, created on fragile 50-year-old videotape, has rarely been seen outside of the communities where it originated.

The presentation features videos from: Appalshop (Whitesburg, KY),Community TV Network (Chicago, IL), Kartemquin Films (Chicago, IL),Media Burn Archive (Chicago, IL), New Orleans Video Access Center (New Orleans, LA), and the Rose Goldsen Archive of New Media Art at Cornell University (Ithaca, NY).

 

2 Comments

  1. mike.vidal@gmail.com says:

    Will there be an on-demand version of this event?

Leave a Comment

 
 




 
Copyright © 2021 Media Burn Archive.
Media Burn Archive | 935 W Chestnut St Suite 405 Chicago IL 60642
(312) 964-5020 | info@mediaburn.org